Monday , 19 February 2018
Don't miss
The Docks
Photography by John Cronin

The Docks

[slideshow_deploy id=’2670′]

“The Docks” a new formation of Irish musicians led by Ukrainian singer, composer and award winner Olesya Zdorovetska

Her other projects include ‘Subconscious Songs from Ukraine’, exploring traditional music from her native country, ‘Before Speech’ songs without words in search of a musical protolanguage, ‘Undefined Pleasure’, discovering the physicality of the instrument through the body of the performer, ‘Poesias Espanolas’, an investigation of Spanish poetry from the Middle Ages to the Twentieth Century, and ‘Texts for Nothing’, based on the work of Samuel Beckett.

As soloist with Eastern Europe’s leading Salsa band ‘Dislocados’, she has recorded two albums, winning the people’s choice prize of the Latin category at the Independent Music Awards 2011 for ‘La Salida’ and the 2012 IMA’s with the song “COMO TU” and working with some of the world’s leading Salsa stars including Jimmy Bosch, Herman Olivera, Frankie Vázquez and Mitch Frohman at numerous major international festivals.

She is also a member of the London-based ‘Sefiroth Ensemble’, an electro-acoustic chamber ensemble that explores the contemporary interpretation of Sephardic (Judeo-Spanish) repertoire from the 16th Century, with whom she has recorded at the Royal Academy of Music, London.

Other collaborative projects include performances with the Yurodny Ensemble, ‘ERA’ with Nazgul Shukaeva, Mark Tokar’s ‘Aphrodite’, Elena Leonova’s ‘That Crazed Girl’ and The Water Project, whose work explores the potential for water as a compositional process.

Olesya also has a strong interest in film music composition and photography. In 2011 she wrote the soundtrack to the film ‘Little Thing’ , directed by Marianna Volskaya, and is currently working on her own film dedicated to Dun Laoghaire. Her visual art focuses on the exploration of the relationship between photographic image, painting and reality.

The Docks:
Olesya Zdorovetska – Voice
Colm O’Hara – Trombone
Derek Whyte – Bass
Shane O’Donovan – Drums
Keith Lindsay -Electronics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *