Friday , 19 January 2018
Don't miss
Phisqa Live at The Jazz Central
Photography by Devi Anna

Phisqa Live at The Jazz Central

“A  Journey” is how Jose “Cote” Calmet defined PHISQA, and it is because of that and more. “PHISQA” [five in Quechua, native language of Peru] is not only a harmonious conjunction between five “Jazzman” from different countries [Italy, South Africa, Peru, Venezuela, Ireland] but also the staging of a new way to merge the rich texture of Afro Peruvian rhythms and Andean with finesse, and high technical spontaneity of jazz.

Formed in Dublin, Ireland, 2010, Phisqa escapes the traditional way in which to date Peruvian rhythms has been merged with jazz.

Featuring Cote Calmet on Drums, Sam Comerford on Saxes, Julien Colarossi on Guitar, Leopoldo Osio on Piano and Cormac O’Brien on Double Bass.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *